My trip to Mexico

I spent last week at an all-staff meeting for Friends of the Orphans, the non-profit that I’m employed by. We did a lot of team building exercises, but the highlight of my trip was visiting the orphan home, Nuestros Pequenos Hermanos in Miacatlan, Mexico. NPH makes a loving home for orphaned, abandoned and neglected children. Volunteers from the US and around the world provide TLC and so much more for them. They are getting a montessori education in the younger years, and are provided opportunities to have extra-curricular activities like performing in bands and dance troupes; tae kwon do; sports, etc. When they get to high school age, many of them go on to Bachillerato, and take college-prep or vocational courses to prepare them for adult life. I feel very blessed to have participated in going to visit this home… I know it will help me to feel the passion about why I work where I do.

High School Dancers at NPH

High School Dancers at NPH

Tae Kwon Do girls

Tae Kwon Do girls

The picture below is of Maria, 13, and Maria, 11. They were my partners in a scavenger hunt activity that we did with the “pequenos”. They were a bundle of energy and had me racing all over NPH looking for things like a zapato rojo (red shoe), stuffed animal (hence the gorilla), corn husks (out back of the kitchen where they make all their own tortillas and many more things. It was a lot of fun and they are sweet girls!

Maria y Maria... y un gorillita

Maria y Maria... y un gorillita

We also spent some time working with the kids on craft projects. It was such a lovely day that I will always remember… I hope I can get back to Miacatlan someday, and even visit some of the other NPH homes throughout the world.

Crafty Kids!

Crafty Kids!

Leave a comment

Filed under fun stuff, Kids

Leave a Reply

